Bravo to the Arcadia Quartet whose Weinberg Disc Vo.1 on Chandos Reccords has been nomiated for the 2022 International Classical Music Awards!

Recent news

Classical Music Magazine: These Women’s Works – Tasmin Little/Chandos

7 February 2022: London Handel Players and Bach Cantatas @ Wigmore Hall

  • London Handel Players
  • Adrian Butterfield director
  • Julia Doyle soprano
  • Daniel Taylor countertenor
  • Charles Daniels tenor
  • Matthew Brook bass-baritone

Bach’s Cantata No. 198 is a secular work mourning the loss of Christiane Eberhardine, wife of the Elector of Saxony, and first performed in Leipzig in 1727. Dating from 1736, Cantata No. 206 celebrates the birthday of her son, Augustus III of Poland. Preceding these in tonight’s programme is an aria now attributed to Melchior Hoffmann (c.1696/7-1715) but formerly attributed to Bach himself, and probably forming part of a lost cantata composed for a funeral service.

  • Melchior Hoffmann (c.1679-1715)
      • Schlage doch, gewünschte Stunde BWV53
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
      • Lass, Fürstin, lass noch einen Strahl BWV198
  • Johann Sebastian Bach
      • Schleicht, spielende Wellen BWV206

Tickets available from:

What a week for the Arcadia Quartet!- Recording for Chandos Records at Potton Hall and Concerts in Nottingham and Newton Abbott

Bravo again to the amazing Arcadia Quartet – what a week- recording at Potton Hall for the second disc in their Weinberg quartet series for Chandos followed by 2 highly acclaimed concerts in Nottingham and Newton Abbott.
“The Arcadia Quartet was brilliant on Saturday night at Lakeside…..The audience were riveted by the playing and I don’t think I’ve heard the Janacek played in quite such a visceral way before.” Catherine Hocking, Lakeside Arts
“The Arcadia Quartet nailed their colours to the mast from the word go: tense, agitated, continual tremolos from all four players, a mighty crescendo culminating in the sort of climax which takes you by the throat and gives you a good shaking.” 5 Star Review, William Rufff, Reviewsgate…/
Newton Abbott
“I am not alone in finding the Arcadia stunning!…..Such a concert makes a lot of hard work worth-while.” Jeff Colman, NASDA
“Amazingly, the Arcadia kept intensity throughout; playing as one, they led us through a whole gamut of emotion. We were gripped in electric silences, as though our nerve endings had been jangled beyond endurance, but we certainly wanted more.
Our encore was the second movement of Weinberg’s 7th String Quartet, a work new to most of the audience. What a privilege for us to hear this before the Arcadia have recorded it.”

Tuesday, 23 November: Raphael Wallfisch & John York appear on In Tune with composer, Jonathan Dove, ahead of next month’s premiere of Dove’s ‘In Exile’ with the CBSO.

On Tuesday, 23 November, Sean Rafferty welcomed composer Jonathan Dove and cellist Raphael Wallfisch and pianist John York, who perform live ahead of next month’s premiere of Dove’s new work, In Exile, with the CBSO.

You can listen in on the following link: