5 June 2021: London Handel Players perform concertos by Telemann, Vivaldi, Handel and Bach in Wendover

Posted By: Sinead O'Carroll, 4th June 2021




J S Bach            Brandenburg Concerto No.5 in D major BWV 1050

Telemann        Concerto for Flute and Recorder in E minor TWV 52:e1

J S Bach            Concerto for Two Violins in D minor BWV 1043


Handel             Trio Sonata Op.5 No.4 in G major HWV 399 for 2 violins and viola

Vivaldi              Sopranino Recorder Concerto in C major RV443

J S                      Bach Brandenburg Concerto No.4 in G major BWV 1049

Piers Lane performs Beethoven and Chopin in a sold-out concert in the Serenata Series, Kangaroo Valley this weekend.

Posted By: Sinead O'Carroll, 4th June 2021

Serenata, 5 Keoghs Road, Kangaroo Valley

Piers Lane-Piano

Sonatas opus 13 and 110 Beethoven; Waltzes by Chopin (complete)

Join us for an afternoon of fine music with this incomparable international pianist.

Date: Sunday 6th June at 2.00pm

Venue: Serenata, 5 Keoghs Road, Kangaroo Valley

Music: Sonatas opus 13 and 110 Beethoven; Waltzes by Chopin (complete)

There will be an interval of 20 minutes during which refreshment will be served

Read more

Clarinetist Emma Johnson and pianist, John Lenehan perform at the Wigmore Hall – 12 June 2021

Posted By: Sinead O'Carroll, 24th May 2021

Emma Johnson clarinet

John Lenehan piano

Emma Johnson’s Isolation Lament for solo clarinet was written during the first lockdown in 2020; the rest of her programme ranges from Mozart’s classic quintet through the dazzling technique of Weber’s Grand Duo Concertant, ending with Emma and John’s own take on Bernstein’s effervescent West Side Story.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)  Clarinet Quintet in A K581

Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826)  Grand Duo Concertant in E flat Op. 48

Emma Johnson (b.1966)  Isolation Lament Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)  Sonata for clarinet and piano

Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990) Scenes from West Side Story  (arranged by Emma Johnson & John Lenehan)

Tickets available from 1 June at:

Read more

May 2021 Review: Piers Lane @ Ukaria, Adelaide “Concert pianist Piers Lane’s obvious joy at being back with an audience was clearly reciprocated by his enthusiasts and Chopin devotees alike”

Posted By: Sinead O'Carroll, 24th May 2021

London Handel Players perform at Stour Music Festival – 20 June

Posted By: Sinead O'Carroll, 12th May 2021

Read more

UK Concerts begin again! he London Handel Players will be celebrating the 300th anniversary of the Brandenburg Concerti at Tilford Festival on 12 & 13 June

Posted By: Sinead O'Carroll, 12th May 2021

Piers Lane: “Legendary concert pianist to perform in Montville’s renowned auditorium” (Sunshine Gazette)

Posted By: Sinead O'Carroll, 12th May 2021

Piers Lane will be performing two concerts in Montville in May.

Legendary Australian pianist Piers Lane will be performing two concerts in Montville in May.

Based in London, Maestro Lane is arguably Australia’s most successful concert pianist, and will visit the Sunshine Coast to perform concerts at Lucas Parklands on May 29 and 30.

Ian Lucas, of Lucas Parklands, said he had long hoped Mr Lane would perform at the Lucas Parklands private concert hall, often described as one of the two best venues of its size in the world.

“Piers Lane has captivated music lovers globally for several decades, so we are incredibly pleased that he has made time in his busy touring program to perform for us at Lucas Parklands for Sunshine Coast music lovers,” Mr Lucas said.

“He’s an inspired pianist who presents the most generous programs to his audiences.

 “French concert pianist Pascal Rogé, who played at Lucas Parklands twice 10 and 12 years ago, said he believed, for its size, it is one of the two best performance venues in the world.”

The first Piers Lane recital on May 29 will be quite unique: all Chopin, predominantly the Nocturnes, presented at twilight in a room lit by candlelight alone. The second concert on May 30 is a 2.30pm matinee where Mr Lane will present two Beethoven sonatas and followed by the Chopin Waltzes.

“You can imagine how incredibly proud and excited I am that he will be performing here,” Mr Lucas said.

The Lucas Parklands concerts and auditorium is located in a private setting near Montville and surrounded by native rainforest, is growing a strong reputation for attracting world class artists and programs. The 150-seat hall features soft lighting and large windows that provide a natural backdrop to an intimate and acoustically brilliant performance space.

“Other performers have commented that they have played in much bigger venues, but they haven’t played in more beautiful places.

“And for us, it’s wonderful to see how quickly artists and guests become comfortable at Lucas Parklands. They arrive not really knowing what to expect, but very quickly they relax and you can see them enjoy the experience.

“I have met the most remarkable people who have stayed in contact, simply because they have come to my home, they love the setting and surroundings, enjoy playing here and they leave as close friends.”

• Mr Lane will perform at the Lucas Parklands concert hall, at Montville, on May 29, 30. For tickets, please phone 0409 623 228 or 5478 5667 or email More info: &

Read more

SOLD OUT: Piers Lane recital at the beautiful Ukaria Cultural Centre, Adelaide on 23 May 2021.

Posted By: Sinead O'Carroll, 12th May 2021


Sunday 23 May 2021  |  2:30PM


Read more

Elgar Reimagined – Raphael Wallfisch with the English String Orchestra/Kenneth Woods

Posted By: Sinead O'Carroll, 22nd March 2021

Emma Johnson & John Lenehan perform Brahms, Debussy, Bernstein and more for Absolute Classics

Posted By: Sinead O'Carroll, 25th February 2021

Read more